MOO I MADE IT!

Cycling On My Mind

Posted on: January 22, 2010

Happy New Year everybody!

Hoping 2010 is treating you all well. We had a lovely Xmas and NY break, heading back to Adelaide and spending time riding old bicycles around the leafy suburbs, going to the local pool, going on bushwalks and of course catching up with friends and family. Then we headed down the Limestone Coast and stuffed ourselves silly on crayfish, but were too scared to go swimming too far from shore after hearing scary stories of white pointers in the area. We went out for a paddle on my birthday (NYE) in Beachport, the town is so pretty, and the water was so blue – but then I saw something with a fin swim past and I refused to go in past my knees after that.

Anyway, here I am on my very lovely Christmas/ birthday present. How lucky am I?! I’ve never been one for new year’s resolutions, mainly I just don’t think you should have to wait for the start of a calendar year to decide to do something differently. BUT I have decided I want to have more physical activity in my regular days. I feel so much better when I am on holidays, and I am sure it’s because I’m not just sitting at a desk for 7 hours straight! So I’ve decided I have to consciously do something to change that.

So first up (and this is totally nanna, but anyone who knows me knows I’m rock-nanna so it’s hardly a revelation), when we were out Xmas shopping this year I picked myself up a pedometer. I have always heard people say it really worked for motivating them to walk more and you know what? It totally works for me! Instead of thinking “oh I can’t be bothered walking all that way” or wanting to park the car really close to where I’m going, everything’s an opportunity to get more steps on the pedometer to meet the 10,000 steps/ day target! Highly effective psychology, tick!

As a result our dog is getting much longer walks now, an hour a day and he loves it as do we. It’s a really nice way to come back together after a working day, and spend sometime with your partner. I’ll be really sad when daylight savings end.

And secondly, my beautiful bike. I have only ever had mountain bikes in my adult life. I don’t know why. Some old boyfriend must have told me it was the best one to get and I was too dumb to know otherwise. I had no idea what a huge difference there is to riding a mountain bike and a road bike. My mountain bike used to stick to the concrete like it was TAR!

My new bike (who I have named “Harriet”), which is beautifully vintage style, a step through with the cushiest brown leather seat EVER, has road tyres and it glides seamlessly over the road! It makes cycling a JOY! So easy. I can’t believe how smoothe the gears are! I am sounding like someone who knows something about cycling and believe me, I don’t. I have terrible balance and not very confident on the road. But this bike feels GOOD, and stable and I’m working out a route to ride to work so I can try and do so at least once a week.

Plus it’s good to have inspiration for looking stylish on your bike:

Anyway, it’s already a stupidly busy start to the year, but while it’s summer I’m still determined to make time to enjoy it!

Only thing is, I have this little thing called a wedding coming up in 3 months time. Can’t it just organise itself already? All I want to do it plan the honeymoon!


4 Responses to "Cycling On My Mind"

CUTE x a million.

That is just so funny all our qwinky dinks! AND I just got sent a free pedometer at work, so only just started using it yesterday! WOW

You’ve got a busy few months ahead darling, but wishing you lots of fun riding your bike, having curls in your hair and walking heaps with your doggie, as that’s EXACTLY what I’ll be doing too up here!

xoxo

Hi there,

Congratulations on such a beautiful bike – and doesn’t cycling become a pleasure when you actually love your bike! Hope to bump into you on the bike path one day soon!

Dear Moo,

That is a beautiful bike! May I ask where you got it?

Cheerio,

Diana

I love the dress and the bike! Jealous much! I followed you here from the permablitz page.. glad you are making my hood super stylish, I’ll be sure to say hi if I spot you!

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

