MOO I MADE IT!

Dress #2

Posted on: April 23, 2008

Dress #2 – Blue & Green Vintage Refashion – Simplicity 3778

This is the second dress I made.

Blue Green Vintage refashion

It was from an ‘easy-to-sew’ rated commercial pattern Simplicity 3778. The first dress I made at the Thread Den class was rated for ‘average’ skilled sewers and at the time I never would have thought I would have been capable of completing it. I am very glad I did because i have learnt these ‘easy’ commercial patterns tend to be pretty shapeless – hence easy to sew!

This was a bit of an experiment on my behalf – I cut up a size 22 vintage shirt dress I picked up because I liked the fabric. I unpicked the seams and used it for the middle panel. It’s a bit of a tent really I suppose. Definitely needs the big belt to cinch it all in and give it a bit more shape. Probably isn’t the most flattering design in the world to put such a busy pattern as the middle panel but oh well. Not bad for my first solo dress effort I think.

Before this dress I had been a bit too scared to actually cut up the oversized vintage pieces I had been collecting in a pile over the years. Not sure why! Just didn’t want to waste the fabric I suppose. But I got the courage after going to one of Thread Den’s ‘Refashion Your Vintage’ or ‘Alter Your Ego’ nights as they now call them. You could bring along a bunch of clothes you wanted to alter yourself and they’d help you do it. It was a good little social sewing night and lots of fun, so I recommend going. Now I can’t help taking in most of my op shop finds.

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
