MOO I MADE IT!

Getting into the winter veggie patch!

Posted on: May 5, 2008

The weekend in my veggie garden:

My first batch of garlic is kicking along in their tubs
Garlic May 08

Harvested and pulled out the eggplant and capsicums to make way for broadbeans and sugar snap peas
Eggplants in ground May 08

Harvested eggplants and capsicum

Aliens landed in my yard! Trying to protect baby veggie seedlings from the pet cats. Good luck to me!
Seedlings pod capsules May 08

An experiment in growing lettuce and salad leaves. Let’s see how we go!
Lettuce
Lettuce experiment

SO MUCH TO LEARN
Ahh, I love the Sustainable Gardening Australia site so much. They have a great free monthly e-newsletter called ‘Cuttings’ that always has lots of information and inspiration to get out into the garden.

This month they have a great article on an edible garden owned by Karen Sutherland in Pascoe Vale.

There’s a bit where she talks about her perennial varieties of edible plants – ie ones you leave in the ground instead of digging up and regrowing from seed or seedling each year. That’s my kind of plant! We’re growing our spring onions as perennials – we just cut off what we need and leave it in it’s planter box and they just come back and grow again. Same with our rosemary bush which we’ve put in the ground now amongst the natives.

But, for example, who knew that you can leave eggplants and capsicums in the ground for 4 years and they will just fruit each year? I certainly didn’t! Wish we knew beforehand because we would have grown them somewhere else so I think we’ll dig up this year’s lot and replant it somewhere more permanent next summer.

I like the idea of having an edible garden with a mixture of perennials and annuals – so there’s always something there and eases the workload a little bit. Though it’s good having annuals – it’s fun to rip them out and compost them at the end of the season and be able to dream about what fun yummy things to grow in seasons to come.

I’m very pleased to see the seedlings I planted out last weekend seem to be doing well. They are my first veggies I have grown from seed. I raised them inside in little peat pellets that you soak in water so they expand and then when they are ready plant out you can just put the whole thing in the ground. I am SO BAD at transplanting seedlings. When someone showed me how you’re supposed to do it I realised I had been plunging my seedlings into deep shock each time poor little buggers!

Anyway, so I used the peat pellets and then put them in the ground, with a cut water bottle on top to be like a mini glass house – stop them drying out in the cold winds and also help keep the moisture in, cats away from them, and keep them a little warm. It looks like aliens landed in our garden bed but hey it’s working!

3 Responses to "Getting into the winter veggie patch!"

I didn’t know eggplants could be perennials…hmmm, we’ll have to leave them in this year and see if they make it in our climate. We leave kale and chard out as perennials. We are just now ripping our chard out which has been there for a couple of years now.

I hope all of the little soda bottles protect those plants from the cats. It sure looks like it will do the trick. I love the trousers you made. They are adorable! I’m looking forward to seeing what else you create.

[…] mentioned the fabulous resource website – Sustainable Gardening Australia (or SGA) before. They have teamed up with some nurseries to create a campaign called Yummy Yards whereby they sell […]

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
