MOO I MADE IT!

Dress #3

Posted on: May 6, 2008

Time for a sewing post!

Dress #3: Tropical Summer Dress (Simplicity pattern 3742 ‘easy to sew’)

Summer Dress

Summer Dress

This is a summer dress I made that’s only had a couple of wears. As the pattern says – it’s easy to sew! Also had some patterns for a top in a similar style that I might do next summer. The fabric is quite thin cotton and I had some problems trying to get the thread tension right when sewing it. In the end the only way I could stop it from all scrunching up into a horrible mess was to make the stitch length really small – which meant NO UNPICKING! Quite a challenge seeing it was like my third item I ever sewed and the second one where I followed a commercial pattern all on my own.

It’s quite thin and breezy, cool and comfortable so I’ll be taking this to Europe with me, where I hope to stock up on some good belts! I really need some.

Speaking of which I will be off to London, Paris, Lisbon (with stop overs in Seoul and Madrid as well) for 3 weeks June – July so if you have any tips of places I HAVE to visit there please do drop me a line. Places to see, eat and shop!

I look forward to taking lots of photos for the blog of beautiful things people have made, grown and cooked while I am there.

2 Responses to "Dress #3"

Great dress! That’s a spotlight fabric, isn’t it? I think I remember seeing it and deciding I couldn’t think of anything to make with it – now I’m jealous!

When you go to Europe, you MUST look out for a spanish pattern magazine called Patrones. From what I’ve seen, it has great patterns, but no one carries it here in Australia. Have a great time on your trip!

What an adorable dress! It is 100 times cuter than what’s shown on the pattern cover. It would be perfect for the summer here in CA. I think I might have to try making one myself. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
