MOO I MADE IT!

Rock Around The Clock Dress!

Posted on: May 25, 2008

I finished my Butterick 4790, 1950’s wrap dress today. I think it looks a bit rockabilly! What do you reckon?

P5252220.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P5252218.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P5252227.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

It’s a great pattern for beginners because there are no zips or anything, but it does require quite a bit of fabric, and a good space to cut out the pattern because the skirt is so big and cut on the bias!

5 Responses to "Rock Around The Clock Dress!"

Do the sides stay put,, or does it shift and reveal your bra underneath?

This pattern is all one piece. The front white bit, wraps around the back (underneath the black fabric) and there is a strap and a button around the back to hold it in place that isn’t visible from the outside so it holds it in place! Well… hopefully! I haven’t worn it out and about yet. I’ll report any wardrobe malfunctions!

Great job! Love the contrasting dotty fabrics.

I think this dress is cute. With a cool modern haircut and those red shades and shoes, it makes it wearable. I was wondering if raising the waist up to right below your breast, then scooping the neckline down to right above your breast, would modernize it? You know, so it looks likes a bra cup, scallops? You know the cut I’m talking about.

I can see Eva Mendez wearing this in The Spirit movie.

I LOVE the fabrics you chose and the red binding! Super cute. I’m getting ready to make this and have been searching for other’s finished garments.

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
