MOO I MADE IT!

A fool for fabric

Posted on: June 5, 2008

So… I have a confession to make.

A few weeks ago I went to Spotlight to pick up some buttons for that shirt I made Alex. As I entered the store, I chanted to myself ‘just buying buttons, just buying buttons, just buying buttons’.

But as I passed the sales table I saw they were selling all these dress fabrics – 5m for $10! And for ALL quilting fabric – buy 1m get 1 free! All those Japanese import prints – buy 1m get 1 free!

Ohhh – but how could I resist. That was $2 per metre for the dress fabrics. Surely I won’t get a bargain that beats that in Paris. So… I just picked up a few things. I stuck to my rule though – didn’t buy anything I didn’t absolutely adore. Check it out:

P5242207.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P5242208.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P5242210.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P5242211.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P5242204.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

3 Responses to "A fool for fabric"

Argh! I LOVE the purple and black floral! I picked up the same print in spotlight last year, in olive and black, (at $20 a metre!!!) and made a little a-line dress out of it. Every time I wear it it gets compliments, and I’m not sure why, because it’s not a very complex dress and it doesn’t fit too well… I blame it on the print.

Hahahaha yes ‘BLAME’ the compliment on that print!

I agree. It’s all about the fabric I say! Get a great looking fabric and you can use it with a very simple easy to sew pattern and it will still look fabulous!

Yeah I was lucky – I got the last 5m on the roll.

Day-um! I never seem to find these kinds of fabrics when I go to Spotty! How lovely!

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
