MOO I MADE IT!

The Hardest Button To Button

Posted on: July 30, 2008

Red Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

My faaaaaavourite thing to look for in clothing when I’m browsing, shopping, or making are the little details! They are the things that make items unique – some piping that adds some crispness, a contrasting fabric trim, some complimentary bias binding framing a neckline and fabulous eye catching buttons!

Since returning from Europe I’ve spent two weekends in Sydney and there’s a button shop on King Street in Newtown that I’ve walked past numerous times but never entered so I finally got past the front door this month.

The store is called All Buttons Great And Small. It’s a small store, but buttons are small too and they have PLENTY to choose from in every colour, shape, material and pattern imaginable. Check these out:


Brown Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

Green Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

Blue Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

Blue Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

Blue Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

I ended up settling on a small pack of these. After coming back from Paris my immediate thoughts were NAPOLEON! I love them. I’m sure they’re going to inspire a great piece. I’m thinking perhaps a cute black winter cape jacket with lapels?


Napoleon Buttons, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

I hear there are some similar stores right here in Melbourne so I will have to scope them out sometime soon. Recommendations welcome!!

Tags:

1 Response to "The Hardest Button To Button"

DROOOOOOOOOOOOOL!

I haven’t been, but my sister has been to Buttonmania and had buttons specially-made there, I think they have ready-made buttons too. They are in the Nicholas Building on Swanston St!

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
