MOO I MADE IT!

Livin’ off the fatta the… city

Posted on: August 18, 2008

P6242422.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

Call me a freak, but my memories of my first trip to London will forever be beautifully warm days, blue skies, and a city full of colour! Not at all what I expected.

I was blown away by the amount of greenery in the city. I had always pictured London to be somewhat bleak and a billion different shades of grey. Grimey buildings and pollution. And constant drizzle. I think we really happened to luck out for our week in London and it might not have been the authentic London experience, but I don’t care, I’m happy to go with it.

It was such a joy travelling on the overground trains and peering into everyone’s backyards and seeing the amount of veggies patches – on rooftops, community gardens as well as gardens.

When taking a stroll through St James Park, we stumbled across a wonderful veggie plot display called DIG FOR VICTORY. It demonstrates how people managed to live with rations and food shortages during the Second World War, by planting their own veggie plots. Check out these photos, my mouth salivates just looking at the gorgeous produce.

You can find out more info about the Dig For Victory project here.

P6242417.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242418.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242425.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242424.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242426.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242427.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242428.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242429.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242432.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242435.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242436.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242437.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242439.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242441.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

P6242443.JPG, originally uploaded by mooimadeit.

3 Responses to "Livin’ off the fatta the… city"

I used to grow vegetables on our rooftop terrace back in Kassel. Like 3 weeks ago ;-). Loved it – it was like a surprise show, cause I didn’t know how some things grow and look while growing. Like black tomatoes, round zucchinis and monster pumpkins!
Actually with the round zucchini was quite funny, cause they came from a package of normal seeds – for the first weeks I was guessing that all zucchini are maybe first round and then elongate…

Yey! I love London!
I’m so glad you had a good taste of it. It really is like that (except when it is grey and cold and drizling). Oh, by the way, my tie blouse is just the jj without the frills and with the collar extended. (I just saw your comment the other day! Thanks)
xx

That is one cool victory garden, looks a bit like Pete’s Patch in Gardening Australia. I wish more people would get the hint back here at home. Dig up all the lawns, I say!

Leave a Reply

MOO HAS MOVED

Please note that this blog has now moved to http://www.mooimadeit.com

Copyright

All words and images belong to Moo I Made It unless otherwise stated. Please do not take anything without asking. Thanks.
